释放云计算给中国带来的全部经济效益

如果不考虑互联网的连接质量,中国的托管价格比欧洲高上五倍,如果考虑进互联网的连接质量,这个价格要高上二十倍。如果将托管价格下降到和欧洲一样的价位,将在中国间接的创造差不多1,800,000个工作。
  • Last Update:2018-07-31
  • Version:002
  • Language:zh

如果一个国家的市场上拥有绝对垄断权的两家公司决定以比世界上其他国家高出20倍的价格销售智能手机和电脑,你们觉得这个国家的 IT 发展速度能有多快? 特别是在中小型企业, 会有多少提供计算机相关专业服务的就业机会产生? 多少学生将有机会拥有他们自己的电脑并拥有在学校之外自主学习的机会? 又有多少企业可以支付起大型计算机来进行大数据处理? 如此巨大的价格差异,与其他国家相比,相当于减少了十倍的就业机会,学生受到的计算机教育也会相对来说落后许多。

上面我们说的这个国家就是中国。不过,个人计算机在中国并不比其他国家贵上20倍。但是云计算却比法国要贵上20倍,也许是世界上价格最高的云计算服务了。

中国云计算高昂的价格降低了云计算可以带来的经济效益,例如至少有1,750,000个潜在工作机会在流失,我们将在这篇文章中解释。 

标杆

让我们首先来比较法国和中国的托管价格。

法国和中国托管的价格比较
法国 中国 价格比 性能比
最便宜的共享主机
11 GB space / 1 Gbps internet 5 GB space / 1 Mbps internet 1.08 倍 网络速度低1000倍
137 RMB / 年 149 RMB / 年
个人服务器 (虚拟机)
1 core / 2 GB RAM / 10 GB SSD / 100 Mbps internet 1 core / 2 GB RAM / 20 GB SAN 3.76 至 231 倍 接近
30.8 RMB / 月 116 RMB / 月不带互联网
7.136 RMB / 月带 100 Mbps 互联网
小型企业服务器
6 core / 32 GB RAM / 2x250 GB SSD / 300 Mbps internet 4 core / 32 GB RAM / 250 GB SAN 5.5 至 96 倍 接近
231 RMB / 月 1.273 RMB / 月不带互联网
22.333 RMB / 月带 300 Mbps 互联网
大型裸机服务器
16 core / 128 GB RAM / 1.5 TB SSD / 10 Gbps LAN / 500 Mbps Internet 16 core / 128 GB RAM / 100 GB SSD / 10 Gbps LAN 5 至 23 倍 接近
1155 RMB / 月 5.832 RMB / 月不带互联网
26.892 RMB / 月带 300 Mbps 互联网

我们在这张表中比较了中国市场上现有的基于裸机服务器或虚拟机的价格。从性能角度来看,一般裸机服务器更好,特别是用于存储的时候。从可靠性角度来说,只要是使用的 RAID 或 SSD,裸机服务器和虚拟机没有很大的不同。下图显示了在一个较长的期限内裸机和虚拟机意外重新启动的次数: 

Unexpected reboots of various hosting infrastructures

此图显示了虚拟机的稳定性可能比 RAID 或 SSD 的裸机托管要低(如: OpenStack),也可以与RAID 或 SSD 的裸机托管的稳定性一致 (如: SlapOS)。裸机服务器平均每5到10年重启一次,相同条件下的 SlapOS 虚拟机也是一样。而 OpenStack 虚拟机每年意外重启1到5次,这比法国,德国或日本的非冗余家用电脑重启的次数还要多。

考虑以上因素,我们可以得到一个结论: 如果不考虑互联网连接质量问题,中国的托管价格比世界上其他地方要高出5倍,如果考虑互联网连接质量问题,这个数字则是高出20倍。虽然以这个为分析基准,但我们也不应该忽略互联网的连接质量和状态,因为它可以对网站性能或实施的应用产生重要影响。对企业来说,系统可恢复性,数据存档,大数据集传输,视频应用等都必须具备高速高质量的互联网。

宏观经济分析

2012年由IDC发布的一份研究报告估算出云计算将为中国和印度创造的就业机会估计有675万。这些工作大部分依赖于企业信息化中云计算带来的成本降低以及生产力提高。 如果我们假设这675万个就业岗位中的350万个是来自于中国的,如果我们假设这其中一半的工作机会都因为云托管的价格过高而无法提供,就可以得出结论: 通过降低中国云托管的价格,我们至少可以创造175万个工作岗位

这还是非常保守的估计。我们用的是2015年的数据,还不是2018年的数据。我们假设的百分比只是50%, 还不是90%,所以真实情况甚至可能超过175万个工作岗位。要验证这个数据的真实性,我们还可以通过另一种估算方式来计算。

微观经济分析

我们来计算一下如果将现在"浪费"在中国高昂的云托管费用(阿里云,UCloud, 青云) 上的资金投入到知识经济中来创造更多有附加价值的工作机会,该工作本身将促进经济的增长并创造一系列相关的就业机会。换句话说,将钱花在单纯的基础设施上(网络,计算机,托管) 并不能给公司带来任何附加价值。然而,将资金花费在平面设计师,软件开发人员,数据科学家,职业翻译家等生产知识的岗位上可以立刻创造价值并通过创新带来新的产品和新的工作机会。这就是基础设施经济(中国近几十年来)和知识经济( 欧洲, 美国,日本,中国正在尝试的转型)的区别。

以下是当中国降低云计算价格后可以创建的工作机会数量的表格:

降低云计算价格后可以在中国创建的工作机会
项目 法国 中国
包括互联网价格的托管价格
个人服务器托管每月价格 (RMB) 30 200
电子贸易服务器托管每月价格 (RMB) 77 500
ERP 和电子商务管理托管每月价格 (RMB) 231 2,000
大数据服务器托管每月价格 (RMB) 1,155 10,000
市场部分
经过培训后有能力管理托管服务器的学生(人) 1,000,000 10,000,000
可以控制自家电子贸易网站的企业(个) 1,000,000 10,000,000
可以托管他们ERP并逐渐转向电子商务管理的企业(个) 250,000 2,500,000
使用大数据的企业(个) 25,000 250,000
由于云托管的高价格而导致细分市场的竞争力下降
失去的教育竞争力(RMB/年)   20,400,000,000
失去的电子贸易竞争力(RMB/年) 50,760,000,000
失去的电子商务管理竞争力(RMB/年) 53,070,000,000
失去的大数据竞争力(RMB/年) 26,535,000,000
失去总竞争力(RMB/年) 150,765,000,000
就业岗位影响
一般雇主在知识经济中创建一个工作岗位的成本(RMB)   500,000
由于过高的云计算成本而无法提供的直接工作岗位(个)  301,530
三年后知识经济创造的工作岗位(个) 1,507,650
整体就业岗位的影响(个) 1,809,180

我们首先考虑四种情况: 

  • 经过培训后可以在线管理一个小型的以 Linux 为基础的云服务器的学生;
  • 小型企业可以自行管理的电子贸易网站,而无需通过其他第三方平台 (淘宝, 天猫等);
  • 小型企业可以通过 ERP5 服务器实施电子商务管理及其他创新管理流程;
  • 中型企业可以通过大数据服务器做数据科学分析和人工智能发展。

对以上每一种情况,我们比较了中法两国的云托管基础设施的价格。中国的价格包含了一些宽带费用,不为零但也没有法国那么多。因此这在之前基准值之间设定了一个值。

然后我们来评估每个情况下的市场规模,考虑到法国和中国市场规模之间1比10的比例。法国和中国目前的人均国内生产总值比例为五比一。中国的人口是法国的20倍,所以我们认为将市场规模的比例设想为10是合理的。 

对于每个市场划分,我们计算了因为高昂的云托管费用,中国丢失了多少价值的经济竞争力。比如说,如果一个中国的中小型企业在法国运行管理他们自己的电子贸易网站,而不是使用第三方平台,一千万的企业只需要支付77元人民币的云托管费用,而不是现在的500元托管费用。也就是说这里流失了433元的竞争力。并且,每月支付给云托管架构的433元并不能创造更多的工作机会(因为自动化), 还不如将这笔钱支付给平面设计师,软件开发人员,数据科学家等。这个433元的差值乘以12个月,一千万的中小型企业,也就是超过每年500亿的经济价值。 

举例来说: 如果我们跟一个小型企业的所有者说如果他每个月支付500元,他就可以获得一个电子贸易网站,但是他还需要支付工资找人操作和管理这个网站,也许没有任何小型企业愿意在这上面投资。但是,如果我们告诉同一个小型企业的所有者说如果他每个月支付500元,他就可以获得一个直接运行的电子贸易网站,有专人管理网站维护,并且保证技术的不断创新,那么这个交易就比将10%的利润交给淘宝或天猫平台要划算得多。

通过降低云托管的价格,许多创意和知识服务突然变得对小企业主有吸引力,从而创造源源不断的就业机会。

如果我们计算所有的市场划分,高昂的云托管价格使中国流失了1500亿的竞争力。如果创建知识经济相关就业机会的年成本是50万元人民币, 也就是缴纳社保后纯工资25万元人民币 - 那么降低云托管价格可以创造的直接工作机会就是30万个。这也意味着,降低云托管价格后,为当地政府创造了750亿人民币的额外收入,用来支付社会福利和人工税。

这30万个因降低云托管价格而产生的工作机会并不只是普通的工作, 而是有创造力的工作。他们可以带来的是革新,创新产品,将网站翻译成其他语言,供应链优化等等。所有这些都可以给企业带来额外的收入,企业规模的增长和更多的工作岗位。根据麦肯锡公司对互联网的经济影响分析计算得出的数字(直接影响占创造就业岗位的15%至25%),我们认为可以按5的比例来计算这30万个直接就业岗位产生的间接影响。

因此,除了通过降低云托管价格而创建的300,000个创造性就业机会之外,五年后还能创造约1,500,000个传统工作机会。 通过将云托管价格降低到与欧洲相似的价位,总共可以在中国创造180万个就业机会,这与之前的评估一致。

政府补贴给创造就业带来的高效率

中国早晚将经历云托管的大幅度降价。价格战即将打响,就像法国移动通信公司 Free 的出现一样。市场将需要五年左右的时间稳定下来,达到一个合理的价格(现在价格的十分之一)和合理的利润( 15%)。

政府在云托管中的作用非常重要。没有政府的支持,就无法改变现在的市场。那么为什么中国政府要支持降低云托管价格,根据我们之前的分析,原因也很清晰了: 

  • 低成本云中每一百万元的额外收入就可以在三年内立即创造18个创造性工作机会和90个传统工作岗位;
  • 投资到低成本云中的每一百万元人民币,可以产生一千七百万元的收入,五年内带来300个创造性的工作机会,8年内带来1500个传统工作机会。

这也是为什么中国政府应该支持低成本云行业的形成,而停止在阻碍了知识经济发展的毫无竞争力的云价格战上浪费时间和金钱。

Unleashing the Full Economic Potential of Cloud Computing in China

Price of hosting in China is about 5 times higher than in Europe if we do not consider Internet connectivity, and 20 times higher if we take into account internet connectivity. 1,800,000 jobs could be created in China by bringing Cloud hosting price to levels similar to Europe.
  • Last Update:2018-10-01
  • Version:001
  • Language:en

Imagine a country in which two companies with a de facto monopoly on the market decide to sell smartphones and computers at a price that is 20 times higher than anywhere else in the world. How fast do you think IT would develop in this country, especially in small and medium businesses? And how many jobs would be created to provide computer related professional services? How many students would own a computer at home and train their IT autonomy beyond what they learn at school? How many companies could purchase very large computers to process big data? It is not unreasonable to state that with such a tremendous price difference, 10 times less jobs would be created compared to other countries and that student education would be much worse that in other countries.

The country we are describing is China. Of course, computers in China are not 20 times more expensive than in other parts of the world. But Cloud Computing services are 20 times more expensive than in France, which is probably the country in the world with the most cost efficient offering.

The Cloud Computing pricing situation in China prevents realising completely the full economic potential of Cloud Computing and prevents the creation of 1.800.000 jobs in the knowledge economy, as we will explain in this article.

Benchmarking

Hosting is the most basic service which all other Cloud Computing services depend on. Let us compare hosting prices in France and China.

Hosting price in France and China
France China Price ratio Performance ratio
Cheapest Shared Hosting
11 GB space / 1 Gbps internet 5 GB space / 1 Mbps internet 1.08 tmes more 1000 times slower network
137 RMB / year 149 RMB / year
Personal Server (VM)
1 core / 2 GB RAM / 10 GB SSD / 100 Mbps internet 1 core / 2 GB RAM / 20 GB SAN 3.76 to 231 tmes more similar
30.8 RMB / month 116 RMB / month without Internet
7.136 RMB / month with 100 Mbps Internet
Small Business Server
6 core / 32 GB RAM / 2x250 GB SSD / 300 Mbps internet 4 core / 32 GB RAM / 250 GB SAN 5.5 to 96 times more similar
231 RMB / month 1.273 RMB / month without Internet
22.333 RMB / month with 300 Mbps internet
Big Bare Metal Server
16 core / 128 GB RAM / 1.5 TB SSD / 10 Gbps LAN / 500 Mbps Internet 16 core / 128 GB RAM / 100 GB SSD / 10 Gbps LAN 5 to 23 times more similar
1155 RMB / month 5.832 RMB / month without Internet
26.892 RMB / month with 300 Mbps internet

We are comparing in this table various offers that exist in China, based on bare metal server or virtual machines. From a performance point of view, bare metal is usually better, especially for storage. From a reliability point of view, there is not so much difference between bare metal and virtual machines if we look at actual statistics, as long as RAID or SSD is used for storage. The graph bellow shows the number of unexpected reboots of bare metal and virtual machines over a long period of time.

Unexpected reboots of various hosting infrastructures

This graph shows that the stability of virtual machines is same (SlapOS) or much worse (OpenStack) than the stability of bare metal hosting with RAID or SSD storage (OVH, Online, Soyoustart). Bare metal servers reboot in average once every 5 to 10 years, just as SlapOS virtual machines do under the same conditions. OpenStack virtual machines reboot unexpectedly 1 to 5 times per year, which is actually more than the number of reboots of a non redundant PC located in a home in France, Germany or Japan ("V" of ViFiB).

With this in mind, we could claim that current price of hosting in China is about 5 times higher if we do not consider Internet connectivity, and 20 times higher if we take into account internet connectivity. Internet access should not be underestimated in this benchmarking because it can have a high impact on performance of a Web site or on the kind of applications that can be implemented through Cloud Computing. High internet speed is required for resiliency, data archival, big dataset transfer, video applications, etc. All these applications are becoming essential for enterprise IT.

Macro-economic analysis

In a research paper published by IDC in 2012, the number of jobs created by Cloud Computing for China and India was estimated to be 6.75 million. Most of these jobs depend on cost reductions offered by Cloud Computing in enterprise IT and productivity increase. If we suppose that 3.5 million jobs are related to China out of the 6.75 million of both China and India, and if we consider that half of these jobs have not been created in China because of the high price of Cloud hosting, we can conclude that 1.75 million jobs could still be created through a price cut in Cloud Computing hosting in China.

This is a very conservative calculation. We are taking figures of 2015, not of 2018. We are applying a ratio of 50% economic development slowdown, not of 90% as in our introduction. In reality, it is much likely that even more jobs could be created than the estimated 1.75 million. Let us confirm this figure through a different calculation.

Micro-economic analysis

We are going to try to compute how many jobs could be created if the money that is currently "wasted" in expensive Chinese Cloud Computing companies (Aliyun, UCloud, Qingcloud) was instead invested into the knowledge economy by creating value added jobs which themselves accelerate economic growth and create further jobs through leverage effects. In other words, spending money on mere infrastructure (network, computer, hosting) does not bring per se any added value to a company. However, spending money on graphic designer, software developers, data scientists, professional translators, etc. produces knowledge which creates immediate value and beyond can produce innovation that leads to new products and new jobs. This is the difference between an infrastructure economy (as China has been for a few decades) and a knowledge economy (as Europe, USA and Japan have become and as China is now becoming).

Here is the table we use to compute jobs that could be created if Cloud Computing hosting was cheaper in China:

Jobs that could be created in China with lower Cloud hosting price
Item France China
Hosting Price including Internet
Personal server hosting monthly price (RMB) 30 200
Ecommerce server hosting monthly price (RMB) 77 500
ERP and e-business server hosting monthly price (RMB) 231 2,000
Big Data Server monthly hosting price (RMB) 1,155 10,000
Market segments
Number of students that could be trained to manage a hosted server 1,000,000 10,000,000
Companies that could control their own e-commerce site 1,000,000 10,000,000
Companies that could host their ERP and move to e-business 250,000 2,500,000
Companies that need Big Data 25,000 250,000
Competivity lost per segment due to high price of Cloud hosting in China
Lost competivity for education (RMB/year) N/A 20,400,000,000
Lost competivity for e-commerce (RMB/year) 50,760,000,000
Lost competivity for e-business (RMB/year) 53,070,000,000
Lost competivity for big data (RMB/year) 26,535,000,000
Lost competivity total 150,765,000,000
Job Impact
Typical employer cost of a job in the knowledge economy N/A 500,000
Number of direct jobs lost due to high price of Cloud hosting 301,530
Jobs created indirectly by knowledge economy jobs after 3 years 1,507,650
Total job creation impact 1,809,180

We first consider four cases:

  • students that could be trained to manage a small Cloud server online based on Linux;
  • e-commerce sites that could be managed by small companies without depending on a marketplace (Taobao, TMall, etc.);
  • ERP servers that could let small companies implement e-business and other innovative processes;
  • Big data servers that could be used by mid size companies for data science and AI.

For each of these cases, we compare the price in France and in China of the Cloud hosting infrastructure. The price we use in China contains some bandwidth, not equal to zero but not necessarily as much as in France. It is thus set to a value in between the two values that were benchmarked previously.

We then evaluate the market size for each case and consider a one to ten ratio between market size in France and in China. Current GDP ratio between France and China is about 5. Population ratio is about 20. We thus believe that a ratio of 10 is reasonable.

For each market segment, we compute how much competitiveness is lost in Chinese economy due to high price of Cloud hosting. For example, if small and medium size business in China were running their own e-commerce site as in France rather than depend on a marketplace, 10 million companies in China would be spending 500 RMB per month for Cloud hosting instead of 77 RMB in France. 433 RMB is being lost in terms of competitiveness. In other words, 433 RMB per month is paid to Cloud infrastructure that should never cost more than 77 RMB per month and that actually creates nearly no jobs due to automation, rather than being paid to graphic designers, software developers, data scientists, etc. This difference of 433 RMB multiplied by 12 months and by 10 million small businesses represents more than 50 billion RMB per year that are lost for the knowledge economy.

Let us go into some more details of our reasoning. Suppose that we tell a small business owner in China that for 500 RMB per month he gets an e-commerce site and nothing else, and that he needs to pay an extra 433 RMB per month for operating the e-commerce site, it is much likely that not a single small business owner will be interested. However, if we tell the same business owner that for 500 RMB per month he gets both the e-commerce site running and someone to operate it and customize it to his needs with possibly some innovations, there is a high chance that this offer will sound more interesting than losing more than 10% of its profits to a marketplace such as Taobao or TMall. Actually, monthly online sales of 5000 RMB are sufficient to justify the implementation of such dedicated e-commerce system.

By lowering the price on Cloud hosting, many creative and knowledge services suddenly become attractive to small business owners, which then leads to job creation in the knowledge economy.

If we sum up all the four segments, we reach a total of 150 billion RMB lost competitiveness every year in China due to high prices of Cloud Computing hosting. If we consider that the yearly employer cost of creative or knowledge related jobs is about 500,000 RMB - which translates into 250,000 RMB net salary after social expenses have been paid - the number of direct jobs that could be created by lower cloud hosting price in China is about 300,000. This also means that lowering cloud hosting prices in China creates 75 billion RMB additional income for local governments, consisting of social benefits and labor taxes.

Those 300,000 jobs that are the direct consequence of lowering Cloud hosting prices are not usual jobs: they are creative jobs. They lead to innovations, to new products, to translating a web site to other languages, to supply-chain optimization, etc. All this leads to additional income for each company, growth and further jobs. We consider that a ratio of 5 could apply to indirect effects of those direct 300.000 jobs, based on figures that have been calculated on the economic impact of Internet by McKinsey & Company (direct impact represents 15% to 25% of total job creation for an IT innovation).

About 1,500,000 additional traditional jobs should thus be created after three years in addition to the 300,000 creative jobs that could be created immediately by saving on Cloud hosting price. 1,800,000 jobs could thus be created in China by bringing Cloud hosting price to levels similar to Europe, consistently with previous evaluation.

Efficiency of subsidies for job creation

Sooner or later, China will experience drastic price cuts in Cloud hosting, initiated by new players. A price war will then follow, just like it happened in France with the introduction of the company called "Free" in mobile telecommunications. It will take about 5 years for market to stabilize and reach a point of reasonable prices (10 times less than today) and reasonable profits (15%).

The role of government in Cloud hosting in China is essential. Without its support, there is no way to change the current market. Why would then government in China support low cost cloud. Based on the previous analysis, reasons are quite clear:

  • for every million RMB of additional income in low cost cloud, 18 creative jobs are created immediately and 90 traditional jobs created indirectly within 3 years ;
  • for every million RMB invested in low cost cloud, 17 million income can be generated, 300 creative jobs created within 5 years and 1500 traditional jobs created indirectly within 8 years.

It is thus quite clear why government in China should urgently support the formation of low cost Cloud industry in order to stop the current waste of money in noncompetitive cloud offerings that prevent the development of the knowledge economy through creative jobs.